Walpurgis Family

Dublin, County Dublin

Walpurgis Family is an indie chamber pop group, which generally consists of 3 to 7 members all playing in various Popical Island bands. In similar spirit as their fellow Popical Island acts, this Dublin-based band plays bittersweet tunes with a strong lyrical touch, which reminds of the minimalistic side of Yo La Tengo & the catchier work by Jim O'Rourke. They released two albums to date: the home-recorded debut album ‘Midsummer Party’ was released in 2010 and the critically acclaimed album Dawn was released in 2012.

"a band kneeling at the altar of great music" - Irish Times
"The Walpurgis Family produce beautiful, star-gazing melodically-charged indie pop" - Hot Press

Bookmark and Share
Sounds Like: