Browse Listings

Bully's Acre

Folk // Dublin

Bully’s Acre, a trio of like-minded musicians who came together in 2013 to explore traditional Irish tunes, flamencoesque brio and folk music from further afield. Accordion maestro Peter Browne, Argentine guitarist and composer Lucas González and percussionist Robbie Harris released their debut album, The Twelve Pins, Nov 2014.

The album contains traditional Irish dance tunes and newly composed tunes by Billy McComiskey, Dónal Lunny, Michael McGoldrick and Charlie Lennon, a bulerías and air composed by Lucas and a bluegrass waltz composed by American guitarist Tony Rice.

“Anyone whose hips swivel to the opening bars of a tune will be smitten by this inventive collection. The Twelve Pins is a vigorous and fresh-faced debut.”
-Siobhan Long, THE IRISH TIMES ★★★★

“The Twelve Pins, a passionate and fascinating fusion of musical styles and ideals that remains true to its constituent parts, yet also creates something new and utterly exhilarating by putting them together.”
-Simon Holland, Folk Radio UK

“Excitement, adventure, and a surprisingly wide range of textures for a trio make Bully's Acre a fascinating find... as a debut album you couldn't ask for much more from The Twelve Pins.”
-Alex Monaghan, Irish Music Magazine

“To understand music and musicians from other backgrounds, cultures and genres one needs to capture the pulse of that tradition, Bully’s Acre have caught it, and allow us to hear it sing from its box.”
-Dónall Mac Ruairí, RTÉ Raidió Na Gaeltachta

Official site

Social Media